Balsam Range Wins Album of the Year //

RALEIGH - The North Carolina bluegrass band Balsam Range has won the International Bluegrass Music Association's coveted Album of the Year award for 2017. Mountain Voodoo is the band's sixth studio album and was released on the Mountain Home Music Company label, based in Arden.

According to a statement from Mountain Home, the winning album "offers something that is continuing to mesmerize fans of bluegrass and beyond with elements of jazz, country, gospel, swing and old-time music that are all infused into the fresh sound of this unique Southern band."

The members of Balsam Range are Buddy Melton (fiddle and vocals), Darren Nicholson (mandolin and lead vocals), Marc Pruett (banjo), Tim Surrett (bass, dobro and vocals), and Caleb Smith (guitar and vocals).