Events

WPAQ Saturday Morning Merry-Go-Round

The WPAQ Saturday morning Merry-Go-Round, which is a live radio broadcast set in a vintage movie theater, has an exceptionally long history of presenting the best of live traditional music in the Blue Ridge. Through the years, a host of regional and national music legends, including Tommy Jarrell, Benton Flippen, the Carter Family, Mac Wiseman, Lester Flatt and Earl Scruggs, and Bill and Charlie Monroe have appeared on the broadcast. The program’s popularity and long history of devotion to regional music has made it the SECOND LONGEST CURRENTLY RUNNING live radio programs in the nation.

On a typical Saturday morning, a technician at the rear of the auditorium greets visitors with a friendly nod as they enter the room. A group of musicians play an extended medley of bluegrass and old time tunes during the pre-broadcast jam session. At eleven o’clock, the house lights dim, a bright red “on the air” electric sign lights up, the emcee welcomes the audience, and another weekly edition of the Merry-Go-Round begins.


Event Details

Location The Earle Theatre
Mount Airy, NC
Cost Ticketed/Admission Charged
$5, includes admission to the Andy Griffith Museum
Music Styles Old-Time
Bluegrass
Event Type Concert / Performance, Radio Broadcast
  • ✔ Family Friendly
  • ✔ Handicapped Accessible
  • ✔ Open Jam
  • ✔ Picnic Space

The venue is partially handicap accessible. Accessible public restroom facilities are located 2 doors down from the venue. Concessions available, popcorn, drinks, etc. Picnic space available two doors down at outdoor location.


Contact Info

Phone (336) 786-2222
Email info@wpaq740.com
Additional Contact Info

 (336) 786-6111

http://www.surryarts.org

http://www.wpaq740.com

Upcoming Dates:

  • Sat, May 27, 2017 at 11:00am - 1:30pm
  • Sat, Jun 3, 2017 at 11:00am - 1:30pm
  • Sat, Jun 10, 2017 at 11:00am - 1:30pm
  • Sat, Jun 17, 2017 at 11:00am - 1:30pm
  • Sat, Jun 24, 2017 at 11:00am - 1:30pm
  • Sat, Jul 1, 2017 at 11:00am - 1:30pm
  • Sat, Jul 8, 2017 at 11:00am - 1:30pm
  • Sat, Jul 15, 2017 at 11:00am - 1:30pm
  • Sat, Jul 22, 2017 at 11:00am - 1:30pm
  • Sat, Jul 29, 2017 at 11:00am - 1:30pm
  • Sat, Aug 5, 2017 at 11:00am - 1:30pm
  • Sat, Aug 12, 2017 at 11:00am - 1:30pm
  • Sat, Aug 19, 2017 at 11:00am - 1:30pm
  • Sat, Aug 26, 2017 at 11:00am - 1:30pm
  • Sat, Sep 2, 2017 at 11:00am - 1:30pm
  • Sat, Sep 9, 2017 at 11:00am - 1:30pm
  • Sat, Sep 16, 2017 at 11:00am - 1:30pm
  • Sat, Sep 23, 2017 at 11:00am - 1:30pm
  • Sat, Sep 30, 2017 at 11:00am - 1:30pm
  • Sat, Oct 7, 2017 at 11:00am - 1:30pm
  • Sat, Oct 14, 2017 at 11:00am - 1:30pm
  • Sat, Oct 21, 2017 at 11:00am - 1:30pm
  • Sat, Oct 28, 2017 at 11:00am - 1:30pm
  • Sat, Nov 4, 2017 at 11:00am - 1:30pm
  • Sat, Nov 11, 2017 at 11:00am - 1:30pm
  • Sat, Nov 18, 2017 at 11:00am - 1:30pm
  • Sat, Nov 25, 2017 at 11:00am - 1:30pm
  • Sat, Dec 2, 2017 at 11:00am - 1:30pm
  • Sat, Dec 9, 2017 at 11:00am - 1:30pm
  • Sat, Dec 16, 2017 at 11:00am - 1:30pm
  • Sat, Dec 23, 2017 at 11:00am - 1:30pm
  • Sat, Dec 30, 2017 at 11:00am - 1:30pm
  • Sat, Jan 6, 2018 at 11:00am - 1:30pm
  • Sat, Jan 13, 2018 at 11:00am - 1:30pm
  • Sat, Jan 20, 2018 at 11:00am - 1:30pm
  • Sat, Jan 27, 2018 at 11:00am - 1:30pm
  • Sat, Feb 3, 2018 at 11:00am - 1:30pm
  • Sat, Feb 10, 2018 at 11:00am - 1:30pm
  • Sat, Feb 17, 2018 at 11:00am - 1:30pm
  • Sat, Feb 24, 2018 at 11:00am - 1:30pm
  • Sat, Mar 3, 2018 at 11:00am - 1:30pm
  • Sat, Mar 10, 2018 at 11:00am - 1:30pm
  • Sat, Mar 17, 2018 at 11:00am - 1:30pm
  • Sat, Mar 24, 2018 at 11:00am - 1:30pm
  • Sat, Mar 31, 2018 at 11:00am - 1:30pm
  • Sat, Apr 7, 2018 at 11:00am - 1:30pm
  • Sat, Apr 14, 2018 at 11:00am - 1:30pm
  • Sat, Apr 21, 2018 at 11:00am - 1:30pm
  • Sat, Apr 28, 2018 at 11:00am - 1:30pm
  • Sat, May 5, 2018 at 11:00am - 1:30pm
  • Sat, May 12, 2018 at 11:00am - 1:30pm
  • Sat, May 19, 2018 at 11:00am - 1:30pm
  • Sat, May 26, 2018 at 11:00am - 1:30pm