Events

The Luthier’s Craft: Instrument Making Traditions of the Blue Ridge

This new exhibit will be on display at the Smith-McDowell House Museum beginning on April 26nd and will run through October 25th. The exhibit offers a hands-on, interactive exploration of the rich history of the traditional craft of stringed instrument making as it still exists in the Blue Ridge Mountains. Featured craftspeople are guitar maker Wayne Henderson and his daughter Jayne and fiddle maker Chris Testerman. The exhibit features videos and sound recordings of instrument building and those instruments being played by skilled musicians.

The Luthier’s Craft was produced by the Mount Airy Museum of  Regional History with financial support provided by the Blue Ridge National Heritage Area, Interlam, Hibco Plastics, and Dr. Mac and Becky Sumner.


Where to Eat, Sleep, Shop & Play

Asheville Convention & Visitors Bureau

Event Details

Location Smith-McDowell House Museum
Asheville, NC
Cost Ticketed/Admission Charged
$9:00/Adult, $5.00/Students, WNCHA members free.
Music Styles
Event Type Exhibit
  • ✔ Can Accommodate Groups
  • ✔ Family Friendly
  • ✔ Handicapped Accessible

Contact Info

Phone (828) 253-9231
https://www.wnchistory.org/smith-mcdowell-house/

Upcoming Dates:

  • Wed, Jun 21, 2017 at 10:00am - 4:00pm
  • Thu, Jun 22, 2017 at 10:00am - 4:00pm
  • Fri, Jun 23, 2017 at 10:00am - 4:00pm
  • Sat, Jun 24, 2017 at 10:00am - 4:00pm
  • Wed, Jun 28, 2017 at 10:00am - 4:00pm
  • Thu, Jun 29, 2017 at 10:00am - 4:00pm
  • Fri, Jun 30, 2017 at 10:00am - 4:00pm
  • Sat, Jul 1, 2017 at 10:00am - 4:00pm
  • Wed, Jul 5, 2017 at 10:00am - 4:00pm
  • Thu, Jul 6, 2017 at 10:00am - 4:00pm
  • Fri, Jul 7, 2017 at 10:00am - 4:00pm
  • Sat, Jul 8, 2017 at 10:00am - 4:00pm
  • Wed, Jul 12, 2017 at 10:00am - 4:00pm
  • Thu, Jul 13, 2017 at 10:00am - 4:00pm
  • Fri, Jul 14, 2017 at 10:00am - 4:00pm
  • Sat, Jul 15, 2017 at 10:00am - 4:00pm
  • Wed, Jul 19, 2017 at 10:00am - 4:00pm
  • Thu, Jul 20, 2017 at 10:00am - 4:00pm
  • Fri, Jul 21, 2017 at 10:00am - 4:00pm
  • Sat, Jul 22, 2017 at 10:00am - 4:00pm
  • Wed, Jul 26, 2017 at 10:00am - 4:00pm
  • Thu, Jul 27, 2017 at 10:00am - 4:00pm
  • Fri, Jul 28, 2017 at 10:00am - 4:00pm
  • Sat, Jul 29, 2017 at 10:00am - 4:00pm
  • Wed, Aug 2, 2017 at 10:00am - 4:00pm
  • Thu, Aug 3, 2017 at 10:00am - 4:00pm
  • Fri, Aug 4, 2017 at 10:00am - 4:00pm
  • Sat, Aug 5, 2017 at 10:00am - 4:00pm
  • Wed, Aug 9, 2017 at 10:00am - 4:00pm
  • Thu, Aug 10, 2017 at 10:00am - 4:00pm
  • Fri, Aug 11, 2017 at 10:00am - 4:00pm
  • Sat, Aug 12, 2017 at 10:00am - 4:00pm
  • Wed, Aug 16, 2017 at 10:00am - 4:00pm
  • Thu, Aug 17, 2017 at 10:00am - 4:00pm
  • Fri, Aug 18, 2017 at 10:00am - 4:00pm
  • Sat, Aug 19, 2017 at 10:00am - 4:00pm
  • Wed, Aug 23, 2017 at 10:00am - 4:00pm
  • Thu, Aug 24, 2017 at 10:00am - 4:00pm
  • Fri, Aug 25, 2017 at 10:00am - 4:00pm
  • Sat, Aug 26, 2017 at 10:00am - 4:00pm
  • Wed, Aug 30, 2017 at 10:00am - 4:00pm
  • Thu, Aug 31, 2017 at 10:00am - 4:00pm
  • Fri, Sep 1, 2017 at 10:00am - 4:00pm
  • Sat, Sep 2, 2017 at 10:00am - 4:00pm
  • Wed, Sep 6, 2017 at 10:00am - 4:00pm
  • Thu, Sep 7, 2017 at 10:00am - 4:00pm
  • Fri, Sep 8, 2017 at 10:00am - 4:00pm
  • Sat, Sep 9, 2017 at 10:00am - 4:00pm
  • Wed, Sep 13, 2017 at 10:00am - 4:00pm
  • Thu, Sep 14, 2017 at 10:00am - 4:00pm
  • Fri, Sep 15, 2017 at 10:00am - 4:00pm
  • Sat, Sep 16, 2017 at 10:00am - 4:00pm
  • Wed, Sep 20, 2017 at 10:00am - 4:00pm
  • Thu, Sep 21, 2017 at 10:00am - 4:00pm
  • Fri, Sep 22, 2017 at 10:00am - 4:00pm
  • Sat, Sep 23, 2017 at 10:00am - 4:00pm
  • Wed, Sep 27, 2017 at 10:00am - 4:00pm
  • Thu, Sep 28, 2017 at 10:00am - 4:00pm
  • Fri, Sep 29, 2017 at 10:00am - 4:00pm
  • Sat, Sep 30, 2017 at 10:00am - 4:00pm
  • Wed, Oct 4, 2017 at 10:00am - 4:00pm
  • Thu, Oct 5, 2017 at 10:00am - 4:00pm
  • Fri, Oct 6, 2017 at 10:00am - 4:00pm
  • Sat, Oct 7, 2017 at 10:00am - 4:00pm
  • Wed, Oct 11, 2017 at 10:00am - 4:00pm
  • Thu, Oct 12, 2017 at 10:00am - 4:00pm
  • Fri, Oct 13, 2017 at 10:00am - 4:00pm
  • Sat, Oct 14, 2017 at 10:00am - 4:00pm
  • Wed, Oct 18, 2017 at 10:00am - 4:00pm
  • Thu, Oct 19, 2017 at 10:00am - 4:00pm
  • Fri, Oct 20, 2017 at 10:00am - 4:00pm
  • Sat, Oct 21, 2017 at 10:00am - 4:00pm
  • Wed, Oct 25, 2017 at 10:00am - 4:00pm

Where to Eat, Sleep, Shop & Play

Asheville Convention & Visitors Bureau