Events

Southern Appalachian Archives

The Southern Appalachian Archives are a rich storehouse of manuscripts and collections, which document regional and local history. Notable among the treasures held in the Southern Appalachian Archives are:

  • The Bascom Lamar Lunsford Collection, which includes an oversized scrapbook, photographs, sound recordings, transcribed ballads, and other memorabilia (Lunsford Collection Brochure);
  • The James G. K. McClure Collection, which includes over 3,000 photographs documenting western North Carolina agriculture from the 1920s to the early 1950s and a vast array of materials from the Farmers Federation and the Lord’s Acre Initiatives, including recordings of several Farmers Federation Picnics;
  • A variety of collections featuring western North Carolina mountain musicians–the Byard Ray Festival Collection, the Jackie Ward Collection featuring selected materials from the Mountain Dance and Folk Festival and Shindig on the Green, the Bascom Lamar Lunsford Minstrel of Appalachia Festival Collection, the Madison County Heritage Festival Ballad and Story Swap Collection, the Obray Ramsey Memory Collection, the Tommy Hunter Memory Collection, and the Dellie Norton Collection.

Other special collections include:

  • Southern Appalachian Photographic Archives;
  • Gertrude M. Ruskin Collection of Cherokee Indian artifacts and materials;
  • Evelyn Underwood Collection of important Madison County early documents, photographs, and oral histories;
  • University archives, including papers relating to the history of Mars Hill University.

Event Details

Location The Liston B. Ramsey Center for Regional Studies at Mars Hill University
Mars Hill, NC
Cost Free
Music Styles Ballad Singing
Bluegrass
Clogging
Contra Dancing
Old-Time
Shaped-Note Singing
Square Dancing
Event Type Exhibit
  • ✔ Can Accommodate Groups
  • ✔ Handicapped Accessible

Contact Info

https://www.mhu.edu/about/what-to-do-and-see/ramsey-center/southern-appalachian-archives

Upcoming Dates:

  • Tue, Dec 11, 2018 at 1:00pm - 4:00pm
  • Wed, Dec 12, 2018 at 9:00am - 12:00pm
  • Thu, Dec 13, 2018 at 1:00pm - 4:00pm
  • Fri, Dec 14, 2018 at 9:00am - 12:00pm
  • Mon, Dec 17, 2018 at 9:00am - 12:00pm
  • Tue, Dec 18, 2018 at 1:00pm - 4:00pm
  • Wed, Dec 19, 2018 at 9:00am - 12:00pm
  • Thu, Dec 20, 2018 at 1:00pm - 4:00pm
  • Fri, Dec 21, 2018 at 9:00am - 12:00pm
  • Mon, Dec 24, 2018 at 9:00am - 12:00pm
  • Tue, Dec 25, 2018 at 1:00pm - 4:00pm
  • Wed, Dec 26, 2018 at 9:00am - 12:00pm
  • Thu, Dec 27, 2018 at 1:00pm - 4:00pm
  • Fri, Dec 28, 2018 at 9:00am - 12:00pm
  • Mon, Dec 31, 2018 at 9:00am - 12:00pm
  • Tue, Jan 1, 2019 at 1:00pm - 4:00pm
  • Wed, Jan 2, 2019 at 9:00am - 12:00pm
  • Thu, Jan 3, 2019 at 1:00pm - 4:00pm
  • Fri, Jan 4, 2019 at 9:00am - 12:00pm
  • Mon, Jan 7, 2019 at 9:00am - 12:00pm
  • Tue, Jan 8, 2019 at 1:00pm - 4:00pm
  • Wed, Jan 9, 2019 at 9:00am - 12:00pm
  • Thu, Jan 10, 2019 at 1:00pm - 4:00pm
  • Fri, Jan 11, 2019 at 9:00am - 12:00pm
  • Mon, Jan 14, 2019 at 9:00am - 12:00pm
  • Tue, Jan 15, 2019 at 1:00pm - 4:00pm
  • Wed, Jan 16, 2019 at 9:00am - 12:00pm
  • Thu, Jan 17, 2019 at 1:00pm - 4:00pm
  • Fri, Jan 18, 2019 at 9:00am - 12:00pm
  • Mon, Jan 21, 2019 at 9:00am - 12:00pm
  • Tue, Jan 22, 2019 at 1:00pm - 4:00pm
  • Wed, Jan 23, 2019 at 9:00am - 12:00pm
  • Thu, Jan 24, 2019 at 1:00pm - 4:00pm
  • Fri, Jan 25, 2019 at 9:00am - 12:00pm
  • Mon, Jan 28, 2019 at 9:00am - 12:00pm
  • Tue, Jan 29, 2019 at 1:00pm - 4:00pm
  • Wed, Jan 30, 2019 at 9:00am - 12:00pm
  • Thu, Jan 31, 2019 at 1:00pm - 4:00pm
  • Fri, Feb 1, 2019 at 9:00am - 12:00pm
  • Mon, Feb 4, 2019 at 9:00am - 12:00pm
  • Tue, Feb 5, 2019 at 1:00pm - 4:00pm
  • Wed, Feb 6, 2019 at 9:00am - 12:00pm
  • Thu, Feb 7, 2019 at 1:00pm - 4:00pm
  • Fri, Feb 8, 2019 at 9:00am - 12:00pm
  • Mon, Feb 11, 2019 at 9:00am - 12:00pm
  • Tue, Feb 12, 2019 at 1:00pm - 4:00pm
  • Wed, Feb 13, 2019 at 9:00am - 12:00pm
  • Thu, Feb 14, 2019 at 1:00pm - 4:00pm
  • Fri, Feb 15, 2019 at 9:00am - 12:00pm
  • Mon, Feb 18, 2019 at 9:00am - 12:00pm
  • Tue, Feb 19, 2019 at 1:00pm - 4:00pm
  • Wed, Feb 20, 2019 at 9:00am - 12:00pm
  • Thu, Feb 21, 2019 at 1:00pm - 4:00pm
  • Fri, Feb 22, 2019 at 9:00am - 12:00pm
  • Mon, Feb 25, 2019 at 9:00am - 12:00pm
  • Tue, Feb 26, 2019 at 1:00pm - 4:00pm
  • Wed, Feb 27, 2019 at 9:00am - 12:00pm
  • Thu, Feb 28, 2019 at 1:00pm - 4:00pm
  • Fri, Mar 1, 2019 at 9:00am - 12:00pm
  • Mon, Mar 4, 2019 at 9:00am - 12:00pm
  • Tue, Mar 5, 2019 at 1:00pm - 4:00pm
  • Wed, Mar 6, 2019 at 9:00am - 12:00pm
  • Thu, Mar 7, 2019 at 1:00pm - 4:00pm
  • Fri, Mar 8, 2019 at 9:00am - 12:00pm
  • Mon, Mar 11, 2019 at 9:00am - 12:00pm
  • Tue, Mar 12, 2019 at 1:00pm - 4:00pm
  • Wed, Mar 13, 2019 at 9:00am - 12:00pm
  • Thu, Mar 14, 2019 at 1:00pm - 4:00pm
  • Fri, Mar 15, 2019 at 9:00am - 12:00pm
  • Mon, Mar 18, 2019 at 9:00am - 12:00pm
  • Tue, Mar 19, 2019 at 1:00pm - 4:00pm
  • Wed, Mar 20, 2019 at 9:00am - 12:00pm
  • Thu, Mar 21, 2019 at 1:00pm - 4:00pm
  • Fri, Mar 22, 2019 at 9:00am - 12:00pm
  • Mon, Mar 25, 2019 at 9:00am - 12:00pm
  • Tue, Mar 26, 2019 at 1:00pm - 4:00pm
  • Wed, Mar 27, 2019 at 9:00am - 12:00pm
  • Thu, Mar 28, 2019 at 1:00pm - 4:00pm
  • Fri, Mar 29, 2019 at 9:00am - 12:00pm
  • Mon, Apr 1, 2019 at 9:00am - 12:00pm
  • Tue, Apr 2, 2019 at 1:00pm - 4:00pm
  • Wed, Apr 3, 2019 at 9:00am - 12:00pm
  • Thu, Apr 4, 2019 at 1:00pm - 4:00pm
  • Fri, Apr 5, 2019 at 9:00am - 12:00pm
  • Mon, Apr 8, 2019 at 9:00am - 12:00pm
  • Tue, Apr 9, 2019 at 1:00pm - 4:00pm
  • Wed, Apr 10, 2019 at 9:00am - 12:00pm
  • Thu, Apr 11, 2019 at 1:00pm - 4:00pm
  • Fri, Apr 12, 2019 at 9:00am - 12:00pm
  • Mon, Apr 15, 2019 at 9:00am - 12:00pm
  • Tue, Apr 16, 2019 at 1:00pm - 4:00pm
  • Wed, Apr 17, 2019 at 9:00am - 12:00pm
  • Thu, Apr 18, 2019 at 1:00pm - 4:00pm
  • Fri, Apr 19, 2019 at 9:00am - 12:00pm
  • Mon, Apr 22, 2019 at 9:00am - 12:00pm
  • Tue, Apr 23, 2019 at 1:00pm - 4:00pm
  • Wed, Apr 24, 2019 at 9:00am - 12:00pm
  • Thu, Apr 25, 2019 at 1:00pm - 4:00pm
  • Fri, Apr 26, 2019 at 9:00am - 12:00pm
  • Mon, Apr 29, 2019 at 9:00am - 12:00pm
  • Tue, Apr 30, 2019 at 1:00pm - 4:00pm
  • Wed, May 1, 2019 at 9:00am - 12:00pm
  • Thu, May 2, 2019 at 1:00pm - 4:00pm
  • Fri, May 3, 2019 at 9:00am - 12:00pm
  • Mon, May 6, 2019 at 9:00am - 12:00pm
  • Tue, May 7, 2019 at 1:00pm - 4:00pm
  • Wed, May 8, 2019 at 9:00am - 12:00pm
  • Thu, May 9, 2019 at 1:00pm - 4:00pm
  • Fri, May 10, 2019 at 9:00am - 12:00pm
  • Mon, May 13, 2019 at 9:00am - 12:00pm
  • Tue, May 14, 2019 at 1:00pm - 4:00pm
  • Wed, May 15, 2019 at 9:00am - 12:00pm
  • Thu, May 16, 2019 at 1:00pm - 4:00pm
  • Fri, May 17, 2019 at 9:00am - 12:00pm
  • Mon, May 20, 2019 at 9:00am - 12:00pm
  • Tue, May 21, 2019 at 1:00pm - 4:00pm
  • Wed, May 22, 2019 at 9:00am - 12:00pm
  • Thu, May 23, 2019 at 1:00pm - 4:00pm
  • Fri, May 24, 2019 at 9:00am - 12:00pm
  • Mon, May 27, 2019 at 9:00am - 12:00pm
  • Tue, May 28, 2019 at 1:00pm - 4:00pm
  • Wed, May 29, 2019 at 9:00am - 12:00pm
  • Thu, May 30, 2019 at 1:00pm - 4:00pm
  • Fri, May 31, 2019 at 9:00am - 12:00pm
  • Mon, Jun 3, 2019 at 9:00am - 12:00pm
  • Tue, Jun 4, 2019 at 1:00pm - 4:00pm
  • Wed, Jun 5, 2019 at 9:00am - 12:00pm
  • Thu, Jun 6, 2019 at 1:00pm - 4:00pm
  • Fri, Jun 7, 2019 at 9:00am - 12:00pm
  • Mon, Jun 10, 2019 at 9:00am - 12:00pm
  • Tue, Jun 11, 2019 at 1:00pm - 4:00pm
  • Wed, Jun 12, 2019 at 9:00am - 12:00pm
  • Thu, Jun 13, 2019 at 1:00pm - 4:00pm
  • Fri, Jun 14, 2019 at 9:00am - 12:00pm
  • Mon, Jun 17, 2019 at 9:00am - 12:00pm
  • Tue, Jun 18, 2019 at 1:00pm - 4:00pm
  • Wed, Jun 19, 2019 at 9:00am - 12:00pm
  • Thu, Jun 20, 2019 at 1:00pm - 4:00pm
  • Fri, Jun 21, 2019 at 9:00am - 12:00pm
  • Mon, Jun 24, 2019 at 9:00am - 12:00pm
  • Tue, Jun 25, 2019 at 1:00pm - 4:00pm
  • Wed, Jun 26, 2019 at 9:00am - 12:00pm
  • Thu, Jun 27, 2019 at 1:00pm - 4:00pm
  • Fri, Jun 28, 2019 at 9:00am - 12:00pm
  • Mon, Jul 1, 2019 at 9:00am - 12:00pm
  • Tue, Jul 2, 2019 at 1:00pm - 4:00pm
  • Wed, Jul 3, 2019 at 9:00am - 12:00pm
  • Thu, Jul 4, 2019 at 1:00pm - 4:00pm
  • Fri, Jul 5, 2019 at 9:00am - 12:00pm
  • Mon, Jul 8, 2019 at 9:00am - 12:00pm
  • Tue, Jul 9, 2019 at 1:00pm - 4:00pm
  • Wed, Jul 10, 2019 at 9:00am - 12:00pm
  • Thu, Jul 11, 2019 at 1:00pm - 4:00pm
  • Fri, Jul 12, 2019 at 9:00am - 12:00pm
  • Mon, Jul 15, 2019 at 9:00am - 12:00pm
  • Tue, Jul 16, 2019 at 1:00pm - 4:00pm
  • Wed, Jul 17, 2019 at 9:00am - 12:00pm
  • Thu, Jul 18, 2019 at 1:00pm - 4:00pm
  • Fri, Jul 19, 2019 at 9:00am - 12:00pm
  • Mon, Jul 22, 2019 at 9:00am - 12:00pm
  • Tue, Jul 23, 2019 at 1:00pm - 4:00pm
  • Wed, Jul 24, 2019 at 9:00am - 12:00pm
  • Thu, Jul 25, 2019 at 1:00pm - 4:00pm
  • Fri, Jul 26, 2019 at 9:00am - 12:00pm
  • Mon, Jul 29, 2019 at 9:00am - 12:00pm
  • Tue, Jul 30, 2019 at 1:00pm - 4:00pm
  • Wed, Jul 31, 2019 at 9:00am - 12:00pm
  • Thu, Aug 1, 2019 at 1:00pm - 4:00pm
  • Tue, Aug 6, 2019 at 1:00pm - 4:00pm
  • Thu, Aug 8, 2019 at 1:00pm - 4:00pm
  • Tue, Aug 13, 2019 at 1:00pm - 4:00pm
  • Thu, Aug 15, 2019 at 1:00pm - 4:00pm
  • Tue, Aug 20, 2019 at 1:00pm - 4:00pm
  • Thu, Aug 22, 2019 at 1:00pm - 4:00pm
  • Tue, Aug 27, 2019 at 1:00pm - 4:00pm
  • Thu, Aug 29, 2019 at 1:00pm - 4:00pm
  • Tue, Sep 3, 2019 at 1:00pm - 4:00pm
  • Thu, Sep 5, 2019 at 1:00pm - 4:00pm
  • Tue, Sep 10, 2019 at 1:00pm - 4:00pm
  • Thu, Sep 12, 2019 at 1:00pm - 4:00pm
  • Tue, Sep 17, 2019 at 1:00pm - 4:00pm
  • Thu, Sep 19, 2019 at 1:00pm - 4:00pm
  • Tue, Sep 24, 2019 at 1:00pm - 4:00pm
  • Thu, Sep 26, 2019 at 1:00pm - 4:00pm
  • Tue, Oct 1, 2019 at 1:00pm - 4:00pm
  • Thu, Oct 3, 2019 at 1:00pm - 4:00pm
  • Tue, Oct 8, 2019 at 1:00pm - 4:00pm
  • Thu, Oct 10, 2019 at 1:00pm - 4:00pm
  • Tue, Oct 15, 2019 at 1:00pm - 4:00pm
  • Thu, Oct 17, 2019 at 1:00pm - 4:00pm
  • Tue, Oct 22, 2019 at 1:00pm - 4:00pm
  • Thu, Oct 24, 2019 at 1:00pm - 4:00pm
  • Tue, Oct 29, 2019 at 1:00pm - 4:00pm
  • Thu, Oct 31, 2019 at 1:00pm - 4:00pm
  • Tue, Nov 5, 2019 at 1:00pm - 4:00pm
  • Thu, Nov 7, 2019 at 1:00pm - 4:00pm
  • Tue, Nov 12, 2019 at 1:00pm - 4:00pm
  • Thu, Nov 14, 2019 at 1:00pm - 4:00pm
  • Tue, Nov 19, 2019 at 1:00pm - 4:00pm
  • Thu, Nov 21, 2019 at 1:00pm - 4:00pm