Events

Mountain Gateway Museum

Welcome to the Mountain Gateway Museum and Heritage Center! 

The museum is the westernmost branch of the NC Museum of History family. As a part of the NC Department of Cultural resources, we are dedicated to bringing life to the wonderful history of our Old North State.  The Mountain Gateway Museum and Heritage Center offers a variety of educational and historical exhibits for public viewing. Some permanent exhibits include - Remedies From the Past: Folk Medicine in Western NC, Spinning and Weaving, Moonshining, A Time to Plant and a Time to Pluck, and we also have two 19th Century cabins on the museum's grounds. Temporary exhibits are featured throughout the year. The museum is also available for weddings and other events. Please call or email for rates and information.


Where to Eat, Sleep, Shop & Play

McDowell County Tourism Development Authority

Event Details

Location Mountain Gateway Museum
Old Fort, NC
Cost Donation Suggested
Donations support the preservation of the Museum.
Music Styles
Event Type Exhibit
  • ✔ Can Accommodate Groups
  • ✔ Family Friendly
  • ✔ Handicapped Accessible

Open daily from 9 AM to 5 PM.


Contact Info

Phone (828) 668-9259
Email mgm@ncdcr.gov
http://www.mountaingatewaymuseum.org

Upcoming Dates:

  • Sun, Aug 19, 2018 at 2:00pm - 5:00pm
  • Sun, Aug 26, 2018 at 2:00pm - 5:00pm
  • Sun, Sep 2, 2018 at 2:00pm - 5:00pm
  • Sun, Sep 9, 2018 at 2:00pm - 5:00pm
  • Sun, Sep 16, 2018 at 2:00pm - 5:00pm
  • Sun, Sep 23, 2018 at 2:00pm - 5:00pm
  • Sun, Sep 30, 2018 at 2:00pm - 5:00pm
  • Sun, Oct 7, 2018 at 2:00pm - 5:00pm
  • Sun, Oct 14, 2018 at 2:00pm - 5:00pm
  • Sun, Oct 21, 2018 at 2:00pm - 5:00pm
  • Sun, Oct 28, 2018 at 2:00pm - 5:00pm
  • Sun, Nov 4, 2018 at 2:00pm - 5:00pm
  • Sun, Nov 11, 2018 at 2:00pm - 5:00pm
  • Sun, Nov 18, 2018 at 2:00pm - 5:00pm
  • Sun, Nov 25, 2018 at 2:00pm - 5:00pm
  • Sun, Dec 2, 2018 at 2:00pm - 5:00pm
  • Sun, Dec 9, 2018 at 2:00pm - 5:00pm
  • Sun, Dec 16, 2018 at 2:00pm - 5:00pm
  • Sun, Dec 23, 2018 at 2:00pm - 5:00pm
  • Sun, Dec 30, 2018 at 2:00pm - 5:00pm
  • Sun, Jan 6, 2019 at 2:00pm - 5:00pm
  • Sun, Jan 13, 2019 at 2:00pm - 5:00pm
  • Sun, Jan 20, 2019 at 2:00pm - 5:00pm
  • Sun, Jan 27, 2019 at 2:00pm - 5:00pm
  • Sun, Feb 3, 2019 at 2:00pm - 5:00pm
  • Sun, Feb 10, 2019 at 2:00pm - 5:00pm
  • Sun, Feb 17, 2019 at 2:00pm - 5:00pm
  • Sun, Feb 24, 2019 at 2:00pm - 5:00pm
  • Sun, Mar 3, 2019 at 2:00pm - 5:00pm
  • Sun, Mar 10, 2019 at 2:00pm - 5:00pm
  • Sun, Mar 17, 2019 at 2:00pm - 5:00pm
  • Sun, Mar 24, 2019 at 2:00pm - 5:00pm
  • Sun, Mar 31, 2019 at 2:00pm - 5:00pm
  • Sun, Apr 7, 2019 at 2:00pm - 5:00pm
  • Sun, Apr 14, 2019 at 2:00pm - 5:00pm
  • Sun, Apr 21, 2019 at 2:00pm - 5:00pm
  • Sun, Apr 28, 2019 at 2:00pm - 5:00pm
  • Sun, May 5, 2019 at 2:00pm - 5:00pm
  • Sun, May 12, 2019 at 2:00pm - 5:00pm
  • Sun, May 19, 2019 at 2:00pm - 5:00pm
  • Sun, May 26, 2019 at 2:00pm - 5:00pm
  • Sun, Jun 2, 2019 at 2:00pm - 5:00pm
  • Sun, Jun 9, 2019 at 2:00pm - 5:00pm
  • Sun, Jun 16, 2019 at 2:00pm - 5:00pm
  • Sun, Jun 23, 2019 at 2:00pm - 5:00pm
  • Sun, Jun 30, 2019 at 2:00pm - 5:00pm
  • Sun, Jul 7, 2019 at 2:00pm - 5:00pm
  • Sun, Jul 14, 2019 at 2:00pm - 5:00pm
  • Sun, Jul 21, 2019 at 2:00pm - 5:00pm
  • Sun, Jul 28, 2019 at 2:00pm - 5:00pm
  • Sun, Aug 4, 2019 at 2:00pm - 5:00pm
  • Sun, Aug 11, 2019 at 2:00pm - 5:00pm

Where to Eat, Sleep, Shop & Play

McDowell County Tourism Development Authority