Events

Mountain Gateway Museum

Welcome to the Mountain Gateway Museum and Heritage Center! 

The museum is the westernmost branch of the NC Museum of History family. As a part of the NC Department of Cultural resources, we are dedicated to bringing life to the wonderful history of our Old North State.  The Mountain Gateway Museum and Heritage Center offers a variety of educational and historical exhibits for public viewing. Some permanent exhibits include - Remedies From the Past: Folk Medicine in Western NC, Spinning and Weaving, Moonshining, A Time to Plant and a Time to Pluck, and we also have two 19th Century cabins on the museum's grounds. Temporary exhibits are featured throughout the year. The museum is also available for weddings and other events. Please call or email for rates and information.


Where to Eat, Sleep, Shop & Play

McDowell County Tourism Development Authority

Event Details

Location Mountain Gateway Museum
Old Fort, NC
Cost Donation Suggested
Donations support the preservation of the Museum.
Music Styles
Event Type Exhibit
  • ✔ Can Accommodate Groups
  • ✔ Family Friendly
  • ✔ Handicapped Accessible

Open daily from 9 AM to 5 PM.


Contact Info

Phone (828) 668-9259
Email mgm@ncdcr.gov
http://www.mountaingatewaymuseum.org

Upcoming Dates:

  • Sun, Mar 26, 2017 at 2:00pm - 5:00pm
  • Sun, Apr 2, 2017 at 2:00pm - 5:00pm
  • Sun, Apr 9, 2017 at 2:00pm - 5:00pm
  • Sun, Apr 16, 2017 at 2:00pm - 5:00pm
  • Sun, Apr 23, 2017 at 2:00pm - 5:00pm
  • Sun, Apr 30, 2017 at 2:00pm - 5:00pm
  • Sun, May 7, 2017 at 2:00pm - 5:00pm
  • Sun, May 14, 2017 at 2:00pm - 5:00pm
  • Sun, May 21, 2017 at 2:00pm - 5:00pm
  • Sun, May 28, 2017 at 2:00pm - 5:00pm
  • Sun, Jun 4, 2017 at 2:00pm - 5:00pm
  • Sun, Jun 11, 2017 at 2:00pm - 5:00pm
  • Sun, Jun 18, 2017 at 2:00pm - 5:00pm
  • Sun, Jun 25, 2017 at 2:00pm - 5:00pm
  • Sun, Jul 2, 2017 at 2:00pm - 5:00pm
  • Sun, Jul 9, 2017 at 2:00pm - 5:00pm
  • Sun, Jul 16, 2017 at 2:00pm - 5:00pm
  • Sun, Jul 23, 2017 at 2:00pm - 5:00pm
  • Sun, Jul 30, 2017 at 2:00pm - 5:00pm
  • Sun, Aug 6, 2017 at 2:00pm - 5:00pm
  • Sun, Aug 13, 2017 at 2:00pm - 5:00pm
  • Sun, Aug 20, 2017 at 2:00pm - 5:00pm
  • Sun, Aug 27, 2017 at 2:00pm - 5:00pm
  • Sun, Sep 3, 2017 at 2:00pm - 5:00pm
  • Sun, Sep 10, 2017 at 2:00pm - 5:00pm
  • Sun, Sep 17, 2017 at 2:00pm - 5:00pm
  • Sun, Sep 24, 2017 at 2:00pm - 5:00pm
  • Sun, Oct 1, 2017 at 2:00pm - 5:00pm
  • Sun, Oct 8, 2017 at 2:00pm - 5:00pm
  • Sun, Oct 15, 2017 at 2:00pm - 5:00pm
  • Sun, Oct 22, 2017 at 2:00pm - 5:00pm
  • Sun, Oct 29, 2017 at 2:00pm - 5:00pm
  • Sun, Nov 5, 2017 at 2:00pm - 5:00pm
  • Sun, Nov 12, 2017 at 2:00pm - 5:00pm
  • Sun, Nov 19, 2017 at 2:00pm - 5:00pm
  • Sun, Nov 26, 2017 at 2:00pm - 5:00pm
  • Sun, Dec 3, 2017 at 2:00pm - 5:00pm
  • Sun, Dec 10, 2017 at 2:00pm - 5:00pm
  • Sun, Dec 17, 2017 at 2:00pm - 5:00pm
  • Sun, Dec 24, 2017 at 2:00pm - 5:00pm
  • Sun, Dec 31, 2017 at 2:00pm - 5:00pm
  • Sun, Jan 7, 2018 at 2:00pm - 5:00pm
  • Sun, Jan 14, 2018 at 2:00pm - 5:00pm
  • Sun, Jan 21, 2018 at 2:00pm - 5:00pm
  • Sun, Jan 28, 2018 at 2:00pm - 5:00pm
  • Sun, Feb 4, 2018 at 2:00pm - 5:00pm
  • Sun, Feb 11, 2018 at 2:00pm - 5:00pm
  • Sun, Feb 18, 2018 at 2:00pm - 5:00pm
  • Sun, Feb 25, 2018 at 2:00pm - 5:00pm
  • Sun, Mar 4, 2018 at 2:00pm - 5:00pm
  • Sun, Mar 11, 2018 at 2:00pm - 5:00pm
  • Sun, Mar 18, 2018 at 2:00pm - 5:00pm

Where to Eat, Sleep, Shop & Play

McDowell County Tourism Development Authority