Events

Folk School Traditional Music & Dance Classes

Weeklong and Weekend music classes are offered year-round at the John C. Campbell Folk School. Classes provide in-depth all-day learning with a single instructor. Choose from a great variety of instruments and all different levels of instruction ranging from fiddle, banjo and guitar, to mountain dulcimer, ukulele, Native American flute and harmony singing. Several classes offer instrument making. Please visit FolkShool.org for detailed information and registration.

Upcoming classes include:

  • January 25 – 27 - Clogging 101
  • January 25 – 27 - Beginning Mountain Dulcimer
  • January 27 – February 2 - Southern Clawhammer Techniques: Intermediate Banjo
  • January 27 – February 2 - Build a Bracket-style, Open-back Banjo
  • February 3 – 9 - Southern Old-time Fiddle Gathering (Intermediate-Advanced)
  • February 10 – 15 - Beginning Folk Harp
  • February 15 – 17 - Try Clawhammer Banjo
  • February 17 – 23 - Relaxing Mountain Dulcimer for Beginners
  • February24 – March 2 - Beginning Hammered Dulcimer
  • March 3 – 8 - Beginning/Refresher Mandolin
  • March 10 – 16 - Beginning Guitar
  • March 17 – 23 - Make Your Fiddle Sing & Dance (Scandinavian Heritage Week)
  • March 24 – 19 - Beginning Clawhammer Banjo
  • March 29 – 31 - Continuing Native American Flute: Find Your Inner Voice
  • March 31 – April 6 - Continuing Mountain Dulcimer
  • April 7 – 13 -Band Workshop
  • April 28 – May 4 - Beginning Bluegrass Banjo
  • May 5 – 11 - Old-time Jam Camp
  • May 12 – 17 - Continuing Clawhammer Banjo
  • May 17 – 19 - Clogging 102 - The Next Step!
  • May 17 – 19 - Dulcimer Celebration
  • May 19 – 25 -Constructing a Mountain Dulcimer
  • May 26 – June 1 -Traditional Rhythms & Runs: Continuing Guitar
  • June 2 – 7 -Continuing Hammered Dulcimer
  • June 7 – 9- Beginning Hammered Dulcimer
  • June 9 – 15 -Surviving and Thriving in Jam Sessions
  • June 16 – 22 - Dance Callers' Workshop
  • June23 – 29 - An Impromptu, Glorious Chorus™: Harmony Singing for All
  • July 7 – 13 - Dance Musicians' Week
  • July 21 – 26 - Playing Bluegrass Music in a Group
  • July 26 – 28 - Continuing Clawhammer Banjo
  • July28 – August 3 - Intermediate Mountain Dulcimer: Refining Your Playing
  • August 11 – 16 - Intermediate Bluegrass Banjo
  • August 16 – 18 - Acoustic Bass - The Basics & Beyond
  • August 18 – 24 - Fingerpicking Guitar - Intermediate Level
  • August25 – 31 -Build a Hammered Dulcimer (Scottish Heritage Week)
  • September 1 – 6 - Mountain Songs on the Mountain Dulcimer
  • September 6 – 8 - Beginning Mountain Dulcimer
  • September 8 – 14 - Beginning Southern Clawhammer Banjo
  • September 15 – 21 - Native American Flute
  • September 15 – 21 -The "Campbellin" Returns!(Instrument making)
  • September 22 – 28 - Continuing Bluegrass Banjo
  • September29 – October 4 - Learn to Play a Dobro
  • October 6 – 12 - Intermediate Hammered Dulcimer
  • October 13 – 19 - Beginning Guitar
  • October 20 – 25 - Totally Beginning Fiddle
  • October 27 – November 2 - Get the Tunes to Your Fingertips: Continuing Mandolin
  • October 27 – November 2 -Crankies for Old Songs, Ballads, & Stories
  • November3 – 9 Beginning Autoharp (Shaker Week)
  • November 17 – 22 Bluegrass Banjo for Beginners
  • November 22 – 24 Learn to Contra Dance
  • November 22 – 24 - Intro to Harmony Singing
  • December 4  – 7- Continuing Mountain Dulcimer
  • December 4  –7- Make Your Own Washtub Bass
  • December 8 – 14 - Beginning Mountain Dulcimer ("Holiday in the Mountains" Week)
  • December 26 – January 1, 2020 - Flavor & Flair: The Next Step on Your Fiddling Journey

Event Details

Location John C. Campbell Folk School
Brasstown, NC
Cost Ticketed/Admission Charged
Prices vary pending class. Please visit website for complete class schedule and cost details
Music Styles
Event Type Workshop / Class / Demonstration
  • ✔ Food Service
  • ✔ Handicapped Accessible

Contact Info

Phone (828) 837-2775
Email info@folkschool.org
https://www.classes.folkschool.org

Upcoming Dates:

  • Fri, Jan 25, 2019 at 12:00am - Sunday, January 27, 2019 at 12:00pm
  • Sun, Jan 27, 2019 at 12:00am - Saturday, February 2, 2019 at 12:00pm
  • Sun, Feb 3, 2019 at 12:00am - Saturday, February 9, 2019 at 12:00pm
  • Sun, Feb 10, 2019 at 12:00am - Friday, February 15, 2019 at 12:00pm
  • Fri, Feb 15, 2019 at 12:00am - Sunday, February 17, 2019 at 12:00pm
  • Sun, Feb 24, 2019 at 12:00am - Saturday, March 2, 2019 at 12:00pm
  • Sun, Mar 3, 2019 at 12:00am - Friday, March 8, 2019 at 12:00pm
  • Sun, Mar 10, 2019 at 12:00am - Saturday, March 16, 2019 at 12:00pm
  • Sun, Mar 17, 2019 at 12:00am - Saturday, March 23, 2019 at 12:00pm
  • Sun, Mar 24, 2019 at 12:00am - Friday, March 29, 2019 at 12:00pm
  • Fri, Mar 29, 2019 at 12:00am - Sunday, March 31, 2019 at 12:00pm
  • Sun, Mar 31, 2019 at 12:00am - Saturday, April 6, 2019 at 12:00pm
  • Sun, Apr 7, 2019 at 12:00am - Saturday, April 13, 2019 at 12:00pm
  • Sun, Apr 28, 2019 at 12:00am - Saturday, May 4, 2019 at 12:00pm
  • Sun, May 5, 2019 at 12:00am - Saturday, May 11, 2019 at 12:00pm
  • Sun, May 12, 2019 at 12:00am - Friday, May 17, 2019 at 12:00pm
  • Fri, May 17, 2019 at 12:00am - Sunday, May 19, 2019 at 12:00pm
  • Sun, May 19, 2019 at 12:00am - Saturday, May 25, 2019 at 12:00pm
  • Sun, May 26, 2019 at 12:00am - Saturday, June 1, 2019 at 12:00pm
  • Sun, Jun 2, 2019 at 12:00am - Friday, June 7, 2019 at 12:00pm
  • Fri, Jun 7, 2019 at 12:00am - Sunday, June 9, 2019 at 12:00pm
  • Sun, Jun 9, 2019 at 12:00am - Saturday, June 15, 2019 at 12:00pm
  • Sun, Jun 16, 2019 at 12:00am - Saturday, June 22, 2019 at 12:00pm
  • Sun, Jun 23, 2019 at 12:00am - Saturday, June 29, 2019 at 12:00pm
  • Sun, Jul 7, 2019 at 12:00am - Saturday, July 13, 2019 at 12:00pm
  • Sun, Jul 21, 2019 at 12:00am - Friday, July 26, 2019 at 12:00pm
  • Fri, Jul 26, 2019 at 12:00am - Sunday, July 28, 2019 at 12:00pm
  • Sun, Jul 28, 2019 at 12:00am - Saturday, August 3, 2019 at 12:00pm
  • Sun, Aug 11, 2019 at 12:00am - Friday, August 16, 2019 at 12:00pm
  • Fri, Aug 16, 2019 at 12:00am - Sunday, August 18, 2019 at 12:00pm
  • Sun, Aug 18, 2019 at 12:00am - Saturday, August 24, 2019 at 12:00pm
  • Sun, Aug 25, 2019 at 12:00am - Saturday, August 31, 2019 at 12:00pm
  • Sun, Sep 1, 2019 at 12:00am - Friday, September 6, 2019 at 12:00am
  • Fri, Sep 6, 2019 at 12:00am - Sunday, September 8, 2019 at 12:00am
  • Sun, Sep 8, 2019 at 12:00am - Saturday, September 14, 2019 at 12:00am
  • Sun, Sep 15, 2019 at 12:00am - Saturday, September 21, 2019 at 12:00am
  • Sun, Sep 22, 2019 at 12:00am - Saturday, September 28, 2019 at 12:00am
  • Sun, Sep 29, 2019 at 12:00am - Friday, October 4, 2019 at 12:00am
  • Sun, Oct 6, 2019 at 12:00am - Saturday, October 12, 2019 at 12:00am
  • Sun, Oct 13, 2019 at 12:00am - Saturday, October 19, 2019 at 12:00am
  • Sun, Oct 20, 2019 at 12:00am - Friday, October 25, 2019 at 12:00am
  • Sun, Oct 27, 2019 at 12:00am - Saturday, November 2, 2019 at 12:00am
  • Sun, Nov 3, 2019 at 12:00am - Saturday, November 9, 2019 at 12:00am
  • Sun, Nov 17, 2019 at 12:00am - Friday, November 22, 2019 at 12:00am
  • Fri, Nov 22, 2019 at 12:00am - Sunday, November 24, 2019 at 12:00am
  • Wed, Dec 4, 2019 at 12:00am - Saturday, December 7, 2019 at 12:00am
  • Sun, Dec 8, 2019 at 12:00am - Saturday, December 14, 2019 at 12:00am
  • Thu, Dec 26, 2019 at 12:00am - Wednesday, January 1, 2020 at 12:00am