Events

Folk School Community Contra & Square and English Country Dances

Community dances are usually held every most Saturday evenings and are relished by local residents and visitors who enjoy contra and square dancing to live music. All dances are held at the Community Room, Keith House. Visit website for complete details and musician and caller biographies.

2019 Dance Styles and Dates:

  • January 12 - Contra & Square Dance, caller Charlotte w/ Reelplay
  • January 19 - English Country Dance
  • January 26 - Contra & Square Dance, caller AnneMarie Walter w/ Dog Branch Cats
  • February 9 - Contra & Square Dance, caller John Combs w/ Airplay
  • February 16 - English Country Dance
  • February 23 - Contra & Square Dance, caller Deanna Palumbow/ Ed and Elsie
  • March 9 - Contra & Square Dance, caller Dalsemer w/ Jim & Owen Morrison
  • March 23 - Contra & Square Dance, caller Clinton Ross w/ Susan Conger & Laurie Fisher
  • March 30 - English Country Dance
  • April 6 - Contra & Square Dance, caller Robbin Marcus w/ Mick Kinney and Hick Hoppers
  • April 20 - Contra & Square Dance, caller Doug Singleton w/ Whistling Rufus
  • April 27 - English Country Dance Weekend
  • May 4 - Contra & Square Dance, caller Janet Shepard w/ Boom Chuck
  • May 18 - Contra & Square Dance, caller Abilgail Hobart w/Good and Plenty
  • May 25 - English Country Dance
  • June 8 - Contra & Square Dance, caller John Combs w/ Riverdale
  • June 17 - 21 - Nightly contras during Little/Middle Week w/ John & Steve
  • June 22 - English Country Dance
  • July 6 - Contra & Square Dance, caller Jesse Edgerton w/ Mick Kinney
  • July 20 - Contra & Square Dance, caller and band TBA
  • July 27 - English Country Dance
  • August 10 - Contra & Square Dance, caller and band TBA
  • August 17 - English Country Dance
  • August 24 - Contra & Square Dance, caller and band TBA
  • September 7 - Contra & Square Dance, caller French Dance Weekend
  • September 14 - English Country Dance
  • September 21 - Contra & Square Dance, caller TBA w/Contra Force
  • October 5 - Contra & Square Dance, caller Charlotte w/ Reelplay     
  • October 12 - English Country Dance
  • October 25 - Contra & Square Dance, callers Cis Hinkle & Beth Malaro w/ Boom Chuck & Evening Star
  • November 9 - Contra & Square Dance, caller TBA w/ Windmill
  • November 16 - English Country Dance
  • November 23 - Learn to Contra Dance Weekend
  • December 21 - Holiday Dance

Event Details

Location John C. Campbell Folk School
Brasstown, NC
Cost Ticketed/Admission Charged
$7.00 18 years and older, $5.00/10 to 18 years, 10 years and under Free.
Music Styles Contra Dancing
Square Dancing
Event Type Dance, Workshop / Class / Demonstration
  • ✔ Dancers Welcome
  • ✔ Family Friendly

Contact Info

Phone (828) 837-2775
Email info@folkschool.org
http://www.folkschool.org

Upcoming Dates:

  • Sat, Feb 16, 2019 at 8:00pm - 11:00pm
  • Sat, Feb 23, 2019 at 8:00pm - 11:00pm
  • Sat, Mar 9, 2019 at 8:00pm - 11:00pm
  • Sat, Mar 23, 2019 at 8:00pm - 11:00pm
  • Sat, Mar 30, 2019 at 8:00pm - 11:00pm
  • Sat, Apr 6, 2019 at 8:00pm - 11:00pm
  • Sat, Apr 20, 2019 at 8:00pm - 11:00pm
  • Sat, Apr 27, 2019 at 8:00pm - 11:00pm
  • Sat, May 4, 2019 at 8:00pm - 11:00pm
  • Sat, May 18, 2019 at 8:00pm - 11:00pm
  • Sat, May 25, 2019 at 8:00pm - 11:00pm
  • Sat, Jun 8, 2019 at 8:00pm - 11:00pm
  • Mon, Jun 17, 2019 at 8:00pm - 11:00pm
  • Tue, Jun 18, 2019 at 8:00pm - 11:00pm
  • Wed, Jun 19, 2019 at 8:00pm - 11:00pm
  • Thu, Jun 20, 2019 at 8:00pm - 11:00pm
  • Fri, Jun 21, 2019 at 8:00pm - 11:00pm
  • Sat, Jun 22, 2019 at 8:00pm - 11:00pm
  • Sat, Jul 6, 2019 at 8:00pm - 11:00pm
  • Sat, Jul 20, 2019 at 8:00pm - 11:00pm
  • Sat, Jul 27, 2019 at 8:00pm - 11:00pm
  • Sat, Aug 10, 2019 at 8:00pm - 11:00pm
  • Sat, Aug 17, 2019 at 8:00pm - 11:00pm
  • Sat, Aug 24, 2019 at 8:00pm - 11:00pm
  • Sat, Sep 7, 2019 at 8:00pm - 11:00pm
  • Sat, Sep 14, 2019 at 8:00pm - 11:00pm
  • Sat, Sep 21, 2019 at 8:00pm - 11:00pm
  • Sat, Oct 5, 2019 at 8:00pm - 11:00pm
  • Sat, Oct 12, 2019 at 8:00pm - 11:00pm
  • Sat, Oct 26, 2019 at 8:00pm - 11:00pm
  • Sat, Nov 9, 2019 at 8:00pm - 11:00pm
  • Sat, Nov 16, 2019 at 8:00pm - 11:00pm
  • Sat, Nov 23, 2019 at 8:00pm - 11:00pm
  • Sat, Dec 21, 2019 at 8:00pm - 11:00pm

Our Supporters