Events

Clay’s Corner Friday Night Jam Session

Clay's Corner is more than just a gas station, it's the self-proclaimed Opossum Capital of the World. The walls of the back room of the service station are plastered with opossum paraphernalia and clippings from magazines and newspapers. December 31 is the annual “The Dropping of the Possum.” Hundreds of people descend on the crossroads community of Brasstown to revel in an Appalachian parody that rivals the New Year's Eve extravaganza in Times Square. New Years Eve activities begin around 9 p.m. and include bluegrass music, a womanless Miss Possum Pageant, and a smattering of fireworks. As advertised, at midnight, a possum (in a cage) is slowly (and gently) dropped from a flagpole to celebrate the beginning of the New Year.

On Friday nights throughout the year, bluegrass musicians can be found circled up and enthusiastically playing in the store's small back room. It's always an open jam session, and anyone who wants to is welcome to join in the bluegrass, old-time, gospel, and classic country music that's played there. Acoustic instruments only, please.

Round out your visit to Clay's Corner by stopping at these nearby attractions.


Event Details

Location Clay’s Corner
Brasstown, NC
Cost Free
Music Styles Bluegrass
Gospel
Old-Time
Event Type Jam Session
  • ✔ Family Friendly
  • ✔ Food Service
  • ✔ Open Jam

Sandwiches, driinks and ice cream available for purchase.


Contact Info

Phone (828) 837-3798
http://www.clayscorner.com

Upcoming Dates:

  • Fri, Jul 21, 2017 at 7:30pm - 11:00pm
  • Fri, Jul 28, 2017 at 7:30pm - 11:00pm
  • Fri, Aug 4, 2017 at 7:30pm - 11:00pm
  • Fri, Aug 11, 2017 at 7:30pm - 11:00pm
  • Fri, Aug 18, 2017 at 7:30pm - 11:00pm
  • Fri, Aug 25, 2017 at 7:30pm - 11:00pm
  • Fri, Sep 1, 2017 at 7:30pm - 11:00pm
  • Fri, Sep 8, 2017 at 7:30pm - 11:00pm
  • Fri, Sep 15, 2017 at 7:30pm - 11:00pm
  • Fri, Sep 22, 2017 at 7:30pm - 11:00pm
  • Fri, Sep 29, 2017 at 7:30pm - 11:00pm
  • Fri, Oct 6, 2017 at 7:30pm - 11:00pm
  • Fri, Oct 13, 2017 at 7:30pm - 11:00pm
  • Fri, Oct 20, 2017 at 7:30pm - 11:00pm
  • Fri, Oct 27, 2017 at 7:30pm - 11:00pm
  • Fri, Nov 3, 2017 at 7:30pm - 11:00pm
  • Fri, Nov 10, 2017 at 7:30pm - 11:00pm
  • Fri, Nov 17, 2017 at 7:30pm - 11:00pm
  • Fri, Nov 24, 2017 at 7:30pm - 11:00pm
  • Fri, Dec 1, 2017 at 7:30pm - 11:00pm
  • Fri, Dec 8, 2017 at 7:30pm - 11:00pm
  • Fri, Dec 15, 2017 at 7:30pm - 11:00pm
  • Fri, Dec 22, 2017 at 7:30pm - 11:00pm
  • Fri, Dec 29, 2017 at 7:30pm - 11:00pm
  • Fri, Jan 5, 2018 at 7:30pm - 11:00pm
  • Fri, Jan 12, 2018 at 7:30pm - 11:00pm
  • Fri, Jan 19, 2018 at 7:30pm - 11:00pm
  • Fri, Jan 26, 2018 at 7:30pm - 11:00pm
  • Fri, Feb 2, 2018 at 7:30pm - 11:00pm
  • Fri, Feb 9, 2018 at 7:30pm - 11:00pm
  • Fri, Feb 16, 2018 at 7:30pm - 11:00pm
  • Fri, Feb 23, 2018 at 7:30pm - 11:00pm
  • Fri, Mar 2, 2018 at 7:30pm - 11:00pm
  • Fri, Mar 9, 2018 at 7:30pm - 11:00pm
  • Fri, Mar 16, 2018 at 7:30pm - 11:00pm
  • Fri, Mar 23, 2018 at 7:30pm - 11:00pm
  • Fri, Mar 30, 2018 at 7:30pm - 11:00pm
  • Fri, Apr 6, 2018 at 7:30pm - 11:00pm
  • Fri, Apr 13, 2018 at 7:30pm - 11:00pm
  • Fri, Apr 20, 2018 at 7:30pm - 11:00pm
  • Fri, Apr 27, 2018 at 7:30pm - 11:00pm
  • Fri, May 4, 2018 at 7:30pm - 11:00pm
  • Fri, May 11, 2018 at 7:30pm - 11:00pm
  • Fri, May 18, 2018 at 7:30pm - 11:00pm
  • Fri, May 25, 2018 at 7:30pm - 11:00pm
  • Fri, Jun 1, 2018 at 7:30pm - 11:00pm
  • Fri, Jun 8, 2018 at 7:30pm - 11:00pm
  • Fri, Jun 15, 2018 at 7:30pm - 11:00pm
  • Fri, Jun 22, 2018 at 7:30pm - 11:00pm
  • Fri, Jun 29, 2018 at 7:30pm - 11:00pm
  • Fri, Jul 6, 2018 at 7:30pm - 11:00pm
  • Fri, Jul 13, 2018 at 7:30pm - 11:00pm
  • Fri, Jul 20, 2018 at 7:30pm - 11:00pm