Events

Cecil Sharp Photo Exhibit

The first US exhibit of rare, century-old photos taken by British song collector Cecil Sharp opens at The Madison County Arts Center from April 3 - May 31. The photos feature some of the singers he visited during his travels.

Britons Sharp and his assistant Maud Karpeles collected variants of English ballads between 1916-1918; their collecting work began in Hot Springs with the help of Olive Campbell, founder of the John C. Campbell Folk School.

By the end of their 46-week travels through North Carolina, Virginia, West Virginia, Kentucky and Tennessee, the pair had collected more than 1600 variants of English ballads collected from 281 singers.

While the songs have been published, photos of the singers taken by Sharp, have never been exhibited in the United States. The exhibit is part of a three-year centennial observance of Sharp’s and Karpeles’ work. 


Event Details

Location Madison County Arts Center
Marshall, NC
Cost Free
Music Styles
Event Type Exhibit
  • ✔ Can Accommodate Groups
  • ✔ Family Friendly

Contact Info

Phone (828) 649-1301
Email info@madisoncountyarts.com
http://www.madisoncountyarts.com

Upcoming Dates:

  • Mon, Apr 24, 2017 at 10:00am - 5:00pm
  • Tue, Apr 25, 2017 at 10:00am - 5:00pm
  • Wed, Apr 26, 2017 at 10:00am - 5:00pm
  • Thu, Apr 27, 2017 at 10:00am - 5:00pm
  • Fri, Apr 28, 2017 at 10:00am - 5:00pm
  • Mon, May 1, 2017 at 10:00am - 5:00pm
  • Tue, May 2, 2017 at 10:00am - 5:00pm
  • Wed, May 3, 2017 at 10:00am - 5:00pm
  • Thu, May 4, 2017 at 10:00am - 5:00pm
  • Fri, May 5, 2017 at 10:00am - 5:00pm
  • Mon, May 8, 2017 at 10:00am - 5:00pm
  • Tue, May 9, 2017 at 10:00am - 5:00pm
  • Wed, May 10, 2017 at 10:00am - 5:00pm
  • Thu, May 11, 2017 at 10:00am - 5:00pm
  • Fri, May 12, 2017 at 10:00am - 5:00pm
  • Mon, May 15, 2017 at 10:00am - 5:00pm
  • Tue, May 16, 2017 at 10:00am - 5:00pm
  • Wed, May 17, 2017 at 10:00am - 5:00pm
  • Thu, May 18, 2017 at 10:00am - 5:00pm
  • Fri, May 19, 2017 at 10:00am - 5:00pm
  • Mon, May 22, 2017 at 10:00am - 5:00pm
  • Tue, May 23, 2017 at 10:00am - 5:00pm
  • Wed, May 24, 2017 at 10:00am - 5:00pm
  • Thu, May 25, 2017 at 10:00am - 5:00pm
  • Fri, May 26, 2017 at 10:00am - 5:00pm
  • Mon, May 29, 2017 at 10:00am - 5:00pm
  • Tue, May 30, 2017 at 10:00am - 5:00pm
  • Wed, May 31, 2017 at 10:00am - 5:00pm